Laichtin Naofa
Céili Band

If you would like to share your memories of the Laichtin Naofa Céili Band or if you can name any of the band-members, please let us know by sending an email to irishbandsarchive AT Comments and memories of friends and fans will be published on this page.

The establishment of Comhaltas Ceolteoiri Eireann's Clare County Board in April 1954 prompted the launch of local branches, including one in Miltown Malbay. One of the first acts performed by the branch was to form a Céilí Band. The band consisted of members of the local community and neighbouring parishes. Taking the name of the holy well which lies on the border between Mullagh and Miltown as inspiration, they chose the name ‘The Laichtín Naofa Céilí Band’. Band members included J. C. Talty and Josie Hayes (flutes), Paddy Galvin, Junior Crehan, James Flynn and Christy Dixon (fiddles), Paddy Joe McMahon (accordion), Martin Talty (pipes), Colm O'Connor (piano), Angela Merry (double bass) and Paddy Malone (drums). Other additions throughout the years included Willie Clancy and Michael Falsey.

© text copyright of Clare Library

 Gateway | Showbands Index | Beat-Groups Index | Submit a Photo
If your '60s/early '70s céili band is not here, please send a photo and the line-up via email and it will be added to the
Irish Bands Archive
© francis beirne kennedy | 2001-2020