Deep Joy

Courtesy of Gerry McAvoy 2009: Deep Joy evolved from Pride 1968 - 1970. Jim Ferguson was later replaced by Dave Harper on keyboards who was later replaced by Chris Morrison (keyboards and oboe). Brendan O'Neill was replaced by Wilgar Campbell on drums. The band toured with Taste in the U.K. and when both bands broke up on exactly the same night 31st December 1970, Gerry McAvoy and Wilgar Campbell both became rhythm section for Rory Gallagher. Subsequently, Brendan O'Neill replaced Wilgar Campbell with Rory Gallagher.

Related: Pride, Taste, The Method


Lead Guitar:
Jim Ferguson
2nd Guitar:
Jimmy Carlisle
Gerry McAvoy
Drums: Brendan O'Neill
Chris Morrison
Do you have any more information on Deep Joy?  Can you fill in any spaces below? Do you have any photos, flyers, posters, press-cuttings or any other memorabilia? If you do, please send us an email and we'll tell you what to do next. If you don't want to part with your cherished memorabilia, good quality scans or photos would be gratefully accepted so that we can update this page and the archive in general. Click on 'Contact' at the bottom of this page.
Gateway   |  Beat Groups Home  |  Beat Index Contact
francisk  2001-2010